midnite Kid setup question....

Options
kaipo_boy
kaipo_boy Solar Expert Posts: 143 ✭✭
I'm a guy. Yeah, I admit it. I took the Kid out of the box and had to plug it into a 24v power source and "....ooooh, look at all the pretty lights!"
so, it wasn't put into service right away, I kinda played with it a little... so, never got to the proper screens upon powerup to set my battery bank size. How do I get there? I've searched through the menus but cannot locate anywhere to input my battery bank size... wondering if that's affecting my system.

I'm new to solar, so am trying to pick things up as I go. I wasn't aware of how the CC terminated the cycle until actually trying it out; but I now have 6 hours set into the absorb time at 29.5v (4x GC2 Interstates). On a sunny day I can just barely make it to float, but as I'm usually at work then, I haven't been able to take a SG reading to get my actual SOC when it goes into float. When I get home and it's been running a fridge and a freezer (about 2kwh per day draw) all day long even while charging, the bank usually measures around 25.5v... Interstate says a 100% SOC should be near 25.92v. I don't expect to see 25.92v since the fridge and freezer have been pulling out some current after it hit float, but I'm slowly coming to the realization that maybe I don't have enough solar hours in the day to fully charge the bank up. I currently have 3x Trina 285w panels. Is the only solution to add a 4th panel? Are you allowed to run a slightly higher voltage, say 29.8v or 30.0v to compensate and 'push' more charge into the bank during the absorb cycle? Is there a way to tell it to hold the current high after reaching the bulk/absorb threshold? Or perhaps to taper the current slower?

Comments

• vtmaps
    vtmaps Solar Expert Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    kaipo_boy wrote: »