Battery Sizing Question .

Solar Wind
Solar Wind Registered Users Posts: 9
Good Day everyone,

Came across this forum and i like the way topics and suggestions are done here.
I was hoping I could benefit from those who are knowledgeable on renewable energy technology here.
I am a newbie here and I have a simple question.

I need some advice on sizing a battery for a solar powered LED pole lighting system .
The LED light is rated at 210W, 24V DC. The solar panel is 250 Watts, 24VDC, and I would like to find out what size 24 V battery I need
[in terms of Ahs] to power that lamp for 12 hours and have a backup power capacity for at least two rainy days.

I live in the Caribbean, so there' lot of sunshine all year round.

Thank you in advance for your advice!

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Welcome to the forum SW!

210 Watts of LED lighting is a lot of energy--Assuming you have done as much conservation as possible... For a full time off grid system, assuming a minimum of 5 hours of sunlight per day (you can use this site to get your seasonal variations of sun for a more accurate answer):

Battery size, assuming 2 days of backup power and 50% maximum discharge:
    • 210 Watts * 12 hours usage * 2 days storage * 1/0.50 maximum discharge * 1/24 volt battery bank = 420 AH @ 24 volt battery bank
    And you have two calculations you need to make for your solar array--One is based on the size of your battery bank (larger battery banks need more solar panels to charge completely). 5% to 13% rate of charge is the typical rule of thumb:
    • 420 AH * 29 volts charging * 1/0.77 panel+controller deratings * 0.05 rate of charge = 791 Watt array minimum (weekend/seasonal use)
    • 420 AH * 29 volts charging * 1/0.77 panel+controller deratings * 0.10 rate of charge = 1,582 Watt array nominal (daily use)