battery-less Outback Radian (GT/Off Grid/Hybdrid Inverter options explained)

michaelc
michaelc Solar Expert Posts: 36
Hi folks, Very excited to be putting together something to throw on our roof. We are planning a 7.4KW system using Outbacks Radian inverter. We have limited budget for this and it appears the Radian is reconfigurable so we can change things as we learn. The question I have is can we run the radian and not have batteries or charge controllers......just yet. We want to do the grid tie thing but initially just have PV panels and inverter using/selling back power. Later we would add a couple of 80 amp charge controllers and 800AH of batteries (if I remember a rule I read 1AH for every KW) I am new to all of this, and just cannot find any info on the plus or minus from running the radian without batteries, not even sure it is possible. We a being told 2 sunnyboys (a 3W and 4KW) hooked up to two strings of 14 panels would be better, then spend another 4K to AC couple later if we ant to be up when grid goes down. I really like the outback, and the outback charge controllers...because it has so many modes and options such as gen start etc. Any and all comments welcome. Mike

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: battery-less Outback Radian

Mike welcome to the forum and the Alice through the Looking Glass world of AC inverters. :cry:

What used to be a (relatively) simple subject has been turned into a maze of options because of electrical engineers and marketeers.

There are two basic classes of AC inverters... The Grid Tied units that take power from the solar panels and "inject" that into your home's electrical panels and help reduce your billed power (save money in areas with high electric power costs). And Off Grid units which take power from a battery bank and generate a separate AC power--Generally used for off grid homes and emergency backup power.