Solar Array Needed to Charge 8 Trojan L16 6volt Batteries

Options
OffGridTom
OffGridTom Registered Users Posts: 3
I have a small cabin with three 230 Watt Solar panels and a small battery bank of two 6 volt L16 Batteries connected to produce 12 volts. My controller is a TriStar MTTP 45, and I have a 1500 Watt Pure Sine inverter. The 690 watts provides me with more electricity than I need during the day, but I am wanting to have a lot more available after sunset, and on extremely cloudy days.
-Is my current solar power sufficient to increase the battery bank to 8 vs 2 L16's, or will I need to add solar panels in order to maintain a battery bank of this size? I have been using these batteries for two years now, so I realize I will need to purchase all new batteries for the larger bank. At least that is what I believe to be correct. Please correct me if it isn't.

Thanks for any input.

Comments

• solar_dave
    solar_dave Solar Expert Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Solar Array Needed to Charge 8 Trojan L16 6volt Batteries

OK so a couple things:

1) any idea on how much more power you want to use? That would be the basis for the upgrade in the battery department.
    2) Are you ready to upgrade your system to a higher base voltage, 8 batteries in 4 strings is not the way to go to keep the battery charge balanced.

Of course a voltage increase will require the replacement of the inverter, but you might get away with keeping the same charge controller depending on your consumption. That is what will determine how much solar you need. Texas is pretty good with solar insolation.
  • OffGridTom
    Options
    Re: Solar Array Needed to Charge 8 Trojan L16 6volt Batteries

When I build my larger cabin, I do plan on going with a higher voltage system and inverter. This was somewhat of a test cabin, and the 12 volt inverter I have is only a few months old, so I really want to stay with a 12 volt battery bank.