Suggestion on this setup for a complete beginner.

Options
hochin
hochin Registered Users Posts: 2
Hi all!

So I'm planning on making a move soon to an otg farm here in Hawaii and was wondering if this setup would be efficient enough to power a laptop and a few other gadgets. Would I need to purchase any other type of connection cables? Which parts would I need to keep safe from wet weather? Sorry I'm such a complete beginner to this kind of thing but any kind of tip would be greatly appreciated.

www.amazon.com/Renogy-100W-Mono-Starter-Kit/dp/B00BFCNFRM/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1421026809&sr=8-5&keywords=solar+generator

www.amazon.com/DEEPCYCLE-SOLAR-ENERGY-STORAGE-BATTERY/dp/B008D5YG3G/ref=pd_bxgy_lg_img_z

www.amazon.com/BESTEK®-Inverter-Notebook-cigarette-MRI10011/dp/B007SLDDHQ/ref=pd_bxgy_lg_img_y

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,447 admin
    Options
    Re: Suggestion on this setup for a complete beginner.

Welcome to the forum Hochin!

More or less, the chances that you will be happy with one each of the above--Is not very high.

The right way to start is to use a Kill-a-Watt type meter (for AC) or A DC Amp*Hour/Watt*Hour meter and measure your loads.

Once we know the loads and better understand your needs, we can start some calculations.

However, I can give you some round numbers that will be a good start. A 1 kWatt*Hour per day system will usually power a laptop, printer, cell phone/networking, some lights (or 1,000 Watt*Hours -- Or around 100 Amp*Hours @ 12 volts DC).

If it is only 8 hours on a laptop and charging your cells phone, you might do OK with 500 WH per day. I will do a 1,000 WH per system calculation, but you can basically divide everything by 1/2 for a 500 WH per day system.

First, the battery bank. Assume you will be using an AC inverter (300 Watt MorningStar TSW 12 VDC inverter is a very sweet unit). Assuming 2 days of "no sun" storage and 50% maximum discharge (longer battery life):