New to solar power

Options
01helder
01helder Registered Users Posts: 1
Hello everyone I'm new here and want to give solar power a chance. The first project I'm trying to work on will be to solar power my pool. Can anyone help me with what I need? It is a 1hp motor, 115 volts and 11.0 amps. Am I missing anything if not please let me know what I need to do this.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: New to solar power

Welcome to the forum Helder!

First: Do not spend any money yet until you have researched the issues.

Second: Work on conservation and reduction of energy usage.

I do not have a pool, and I am no expert, but most pools have larger motors than they need (general circulation/filtering/heating usually need 1/2 the size pump typically installed). So using a multi-speed pool motor and/or a high tech PM motor + controller (Permanent Magnet Motors can be 20% more efficient and may have variable speed out out of the box with the controller), and/or Induction Motor + VFD (Variable Frequency Drive--Basically an AC inverter that outputs three phase power with variable frequency--Dial the "motor speed" you need at that time you need it).

Lots of research to do here:
    Swimming pool pump
    Solar Pool Pumping
    Lorentz PS600 Photovoltaic Pool Pump System

You can use the Google Site Tag to limit searches to a particular web site:

site:solar-electric.com swimming pool pump

We have a lot more threads than just the above about pool pumps.

Next is your heating source... For most people a simple plastic/rubber solar collector on a roof (something like 50% to 100% of poos surface area) will keep the pool warm for 9 months of the year. These solar collectors do not last much more than something like 5-10 years, but are pretty cheap and simple to replace as needed (from what little I have seen).