Comparative specifications of LIFePO4 & Flooded Lead Acid batteries

karrak
karrak Solar Expert Posts: 326 ✭✭✭✭
I have put together a set of comparative specifications for nominal 12 volt LiFePO4 and Flooded Lead acid batteries to hopefully bring some clarity to the debate about the two battery technologies.
I am not saying that the batteries should be operated at the loads specified, they are there for comparison.
The Lifespan and costings are of course only indicative and are dependent on many variables and how the batteries are used/abused.
I have no experience of using FLA batteries in off-grid systems, the data on FLA batteries are what I have gleaned from many sources.

LiFePO4
Flooded Lead Acid

Total Operating Voltage Range
14.4 – 11.2
15.5 – 10.5

Normal Operating Voltage Range, No Load
13.8 – 12.8 (90%-20%SOC)

15.5 – 12.0 (100%-50%SOC)

Normal Operating Voltage Range, C/8 Load
13.8 – 12.4
15.5 – 11.0

Normal Operating Voltage Range, C/2 Load
13.8 – 12.0
15.5 - 10.5

Max sustained charge rate
1C
C/8

Recommended sustained charge rate
N/A
C/10

Sustained discharge rate
1C
C/8

Peukert Coefficient
~1.02
1.2-1.6

Current efficiency
>95%
<90%

Lifespan

~10 years

~6 years

Warranty
5 year prorata (balqon)
5 year prorata (trojan)

Cost per kWh
~US$340
~US$130

Cost per usable kWh ($/kWh/cycledepth)
~US$523
~US$325

Cost per usable kWh per year
~US$52.30
~US$54.20

Trojan T105-RE from NAWS assuming 2000cycles@40% charge/discharge
http://www.trojanbatteryre.com/PDF/datasheets/T105RE_TrojanRE_Data_Sheets.pdf

Winston LYP cells from Balqon assuming 3650 cycles @65% charge/discharge
http://www.balqon.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/35_35balqon_battery_2013.pdf
Off-Grid with LFP (LiFePO4) battery, battery Installed April 2013
32x90Ah Winston cells 2p16s (48V), MPP Solar PIP5048MS 5kW Inverter/80A MPPT controller/60A charger, 1900W of Solar Panels
modified BMS based on TI bq769x0 cell monitors.