Newbie and just like to say THANKS!

autoxsteve
autoxsteve Solar Expert Posts: 114 ✭✭✭✭
I'm a newbie here and very thankful of this forum!

I'm presently watching Roderick's DIY video and will be trying to do a make/buy choice for putting a system on our home.

We have concrete ceramic tile roof and have received quotes in the high 20k range last year for a 3kW PV system.

I think I can do much better than that and basically make my elec bill what the TOU fees and taxes are for the year (saving about $900/year).

Thanks again - this forum is most excellent!

Comments

• Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭
    Re: Newbie and just like to say THANKS!

IMHO, a concrete/tile roof mounted arrray is only for the professionals .. your reported contract price doesn't seem high at all for this type of roof and I doubt you can do it yourself for less and met the required codes.

Continue reading and researching on roof mounting hardware and liability insurance, which can easily be 30% the cost of the installation!
  • mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭

And stand by, for some changes in the the California laws regarding ToU rates vs PV hours.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• Roderick
    Roderick Solar Expert Posts: 253 ✭✭

Hi, and welcome.