Off Grid Fish/Hydroponics Farm Questions

Dawn
Dawn Registered Users Posts: 5
Hi there. I'm new here, but saw your post about the Generac Eco gen. I'm thinking of getting a natural gas one of these installed to run off my N.G.well as the first step to being off grid. I was going to run it dedicated to operate a fish-hydroponics set up in the garage, and maybe a second one to run a similar operation in the basement.

Just wondering if anyone has any advice about these generators. Or any information they would be willing to share. Trying to do this the best, least expensive way possible so I don't have to go back in and redo anything. Please bear in mind I am a mechanically minded novice with basically NO understanding of natural gas generators yet, so you might have to deliver the info as like to a baby. Cheers and THANKS anyone,

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Off Grid Fish/Hydroponics Farm Questions

Welcome to the forum Dawn.

I moved your question to its own thread--There will be a lot of discussions about your plans and it makes more sense to keep it contained in its own thread (less confusing).

Is the natural gas generator going to be its own power source, or are you looking at solar panels too?

Also, roughly, were will the system be installed (amount of solar power, local laws and regulations).

Usually, the first place to start is to understand your loads and do as much conservation as you can. It is almost always cheaper to conserve power than it is to generate power. The size of your loads (watts, watt*hours per day, etc.) will greatly affect your choice of genset, hardware, batteries, etc.

Pumping (and grow lighting, if needed) will affect your power demand too. Pumps and any mechanical devices that lift/move water, etc. use a lot of power. And dedicated grow lights use a lot of power too (unless green house/only using a bit of extra light to extend growing/flowering cycle of plants).