tax and general off-grid cost

Options
Thought I would introduce myself first. I am a law enforcement officer, EMT/firefighter and part time soldier. And now I am beginning the long journey of teaching myself about alternate power. Please have a little patients with me I am very new to this.

I wanted to ask about taxes in Arizona and California. I currently own a home in Arizona. I am planning to buy land and build in AZ or CA. Time and money will help with that choice. I have been searching through posts on this board and noticed talk of tax being increased once it is found out that you are off-grid. Is this true in AZ and does it defeat the cost of going off-grid? And off-grid for me means any form of power... solar, wind or anything else.

I also wanted any advice about reading on power sources. I love to read and would like any recommendations for books, websites, etc...that anyone would suggest. I have used howstuffworks.com for the basics.

Thanks for everyones help.

Dave

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: tax and general off-grid cost

Calif exempts solar grid-tie installs from property tax re-assessment. Not sure about pure off-grid installs.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Options