Solar DIY Swimming Pool Heater

rwongca
rwongca Registered Users Posts: 6
Hi Everyone. I hope all is well and hoping someone can help me out to see if this setup will work for what I am trying to do. I am a complete newbie with solar power, so this would be my first project and I would go from there!

Background: I have an inground swimming pool roughly 15000 gallons. I live in the Palm Springs California area, so get lots of hot sun during the summer months. I used to use a solar cover for my pool which would heat the water up nicely and keep the warm water in during the evening. Few months ago the solar cover basically fell apart because it was the 2nd year and was expected. So, I am now using a liquid solar cover product I got from Amazon - http://amzn.to/W7uMJb. Seems to be working OK and water isn't evaporating as much and the product is supposed to keep the warm water in the pool in the evenings. However, it is not as effecient as a solar cover heating up the water for multiple reasons like evaporation and wind blowing over the water in the evening. So, what I am trying to do is heat up the water a little more during the day and hope the liquid solar cover does its job and keeps the warm water in. It has been so nice going in the pool after work and NOT having to take on and off the solar cover so want to see if this solution might work.

Project: DIY Swimming Pool Heater. What I am thinking of doing is buying a 100 watt solar panel and connect it to a DC Pump (See links to actual products below). I would have the pump connected to a 100-400ft black hose that would be in direct sunlight. The water would flow through the pipe during the day and returning water into the pool would be a little warmer.

RENOGY 100 Watt Solar Panel $150 - http://amzn.to/1nwuXFr
RENOGY 100 Watt Solar Panel and Starter Kit - $184.99 - http://amzn.to/1sXEAjy
DC Pump #1 - $69.00 http://bit.ly/1q8mEVg
DC Pump #2 - $79.00 http://bit.ly/1rgB2uq