Help with basic portable generator

Options
tyankee
tyankee Registered Users Posts: 8
I'm a newbie to solar but setup a basic small system with a 120ah battery and
1000w inverter and 100amp solar panel. The solar panel charges the battery in about 12 hours after it gets down to about 60%.

My question is can I keep charging the battery with the solar panel while running appliances through the inverter. There is a 20A Charge Controller built into the solar panels.. I tried connecting the solar panel while the inverter was on and it created a huge spark (pretty dumb i know).

Attachment not found.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,457 admin
    Options
    Re: Help with basic portable generator
    tyankee wrote: »
    I'm a newbie to solar but setup a basic small system with a 120ah battery and
    1000w inverter and 100amp solar panel. The solar panel charges the battery in about 12 hours after it gets down to about 60%.

Welcome to the forum T.Yankee!

Solar is really all about the numbers and some basic math. And the "units".

I would guess that is a 100 Watt "12 volt panel"--Can you confirm that Vmp is around 17.5 to 18.6 volts or so? That is usually the "optimum" voltage for a solar panel on a 12 volt battery bank with a PWM charge controller.

If all is working well, you would expect in full noon time sun around:

100 Watts / 17.5 volts = 5.7 Amps

...of charging current.

If you discharge your battery bank by ~40% depth of discharge (60% state of charge):

120 AH * 0.40 discharge = 48 AH of discharge.

48 AH * 1.10 battery eff * 1/5.7 amps full sun = 9.3 Hours of full sun charging
    9.3 hours of full sun / ~5 hours of full sun in sunny summer weather = ~1.8 days of charging in summer
    My question is can I keep charging the battery with the solar panel while running appliances through the inverter.

And here is the problem... A 1,000 Watt AC inverter--If the battery could power it would only last: