1 kw solar panels

oadkins
oadkins Registered Users Posts: 19 ✭✭
I am new to solar and the forum and I would like to know approximately how many amp hour of battery bank can be maintained with 1kw of solar panels. Am near st johns az off grid and will add to system as I go. Thank You

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: 1 kw solar panels
    oadkins wrote: »
    I am new to solar and the forum and I would like to know approximately how many amp hour of battery bank can be maintained with 1kw of solar panels. Am near st johns az off grid and will add to system as I go. Thank You

Welcome to the forum.

There is a missing factor of system Voltage here, but I can give you approximations for the three standard system Voltages. They work out to about the same amount of stored power.

A 1kW array using an MPPT type charge controller under typical conditions will put out approximately the following peak currents:

12 Volt system; 64 Amps
    24 Volt system; 32 Amps
    48 Volt system; 16 Amps

Using the 10% rule-of-thumb you multiple that current by 10 to get the approximate Amp hour capacity at the Voltage. In other words 640 Amp hours 12 Volts, et cetera.

There are a number of mitigating factors such as a certain range of tolerance to peak charge rate and how the system is used.
  • Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭

In sunny AZ, you can likely get away with a bit larger battery bank, one of many mitigating factors!

With a 1000 watt array likely you will want to look at a 24 volt system, unless you have many 12 volt loads.