PV AAA-Battery Charger

Hi folks,
I recently obtained a couple of solar panels from friend of mine who works at a PV manufacturing plant.
The panels were discarded because of asthetic reasons (i.e wrinkles on the surface).  I soldered the two together, in series, with bypass diodes, and copper test leads.  I put it front of a 500 watt work lamp and tested it for voltage with my ancient, but trustworthy, Midland Multi-Meter.   I got a reading of 3.5VDC...I think.  I am rather new to electricity.  I was wondering:
1. How do I test for current?  (My brothers keep saying I should have known load in series with the multi-meter, but I don't fully understand why or how to do that)
2. Will knowing the current help me understand the wattage output?
3. Ultimately I'd like to make a AAA-battery charger out of this set up.  What other parts/components should I be looking into and trying to understand before I go any farther?
(I'm going to attempt to attach an image of what I put together so far...)
solararraypc3.gif

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: PV AAA-Battery Charger

i doubt you'll find a lamp even with 500 watts that will be sufficient to test the pvs. put them into the sun and measure the open circuit voltage. it would also be helpful if you ask your friend the working rating for voltage and current so you get a ballpark idea of how the ones you've obtained are doing. to test the short circuit current is to use the meter as the shorting load while measuring high current, but be carefull that the meter will handle the current. most dmms can go to about 10amps. again this is on a bright sunny day with the pvs aimed at the sun.
  • mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭

With small pieces of cells or panels, it's hard to hurt much. You can easily overcharge ni-mh batteries, wihch will cause them to die an early death, and then you have to buy new ones.