3kw propane generator for off-grid w/ automatic start

Options
willyjake
willyjake Registered Users Posts: 4
I'm trying to find an appropriate generator to use for this home: http://www.solterre.com/concept-cottage

The generator would be used as backup for when the batteries are unable to handle any loads (so the generator would be used to charge 12V DC batteries as well as handle any AC loads). The generator would be used about once or twice per year.

I require an automatic start - I want the charge controller to tell the generator to start once the battery voltage drops too low. We currently use a 2-wire system. (I'm not totally sure what this means... in case you can't tell I'm a novice about this sort of thing!)

3kW will be more than enough to handle our needs. We also need cold start technology.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: 3kw propane generator for off-grid w/ automatic start

Welcome to the forum.

I have a question which is related although it may not seem so at first: Why are you using a 12 Volt system? As a rule they are not very efficient and should be avoided if at all possible.

Second question would be how are you sizing the generator? This may also seem strange but with all the data at hand we may be able to come up with some alternate plan which will widen the generator choice. For example using an inverter with gen support allows the use of a smaller generator as any 'heavy' loads (nearly always intermittent) can be shared between the two power sources. This saves fuel over the old "enough capacity for full charging and full loads" sizing which is largely unnecessary.