Newbie looking for an advice

kenza
kenza Registered Users Posts: 6
Hi everyone!

I am a newbie here, so please be kind if I ask something stupid.

Short (or not so short) introduction is:

6 months ago I moved into a new house and one of the first things to do was to install my PV system. 12 (I am adding 3 more now) LG 260 watts mono panels with Enecsys micro inverters and monitoring gateway. Installed on the roof without any issues and connected directly to my junction box to a separate circuit breaker. Had to deal with the local utility company but after some time managed to replace the fancy energy meter I had with the analogue one (which now runs mostly backwards during the day).
I planned to have a generator providing power during the grid outages (started automatically via a PLC that detects power outages, disconnects the house from the grid and starts the generator - I have had this system for 3 years in my previous home and it works great).

The problem is:

My new home is in a gated community in suburbs. After 9 PM you can hear a fly at 1km from your home. So, the generator option is not valid anymore. What I did (without too much thinking) is the following: I bought 4 x 170Ah deep cycle batteries and got a 2.2KW Off-Grid inverter (nearly enough to cover my basic needs during blackouts - and the batteries can provide power for a couple of hours, what should be ok). I connected it to the PLC instead of the generator and it works well (in some cases).