newbie with some questions

gizzy2014
gizzy2014 Registered Users Posts: 2
im new to solar energy and am working on a solar powered enclosed trailer for a school project.

i need opinions on what we have picked out to buy for it and need a CC recommendation

batteries: Extreme X2-power part number: SLI24AGMDP
these were recommended by batteries plus to us, if you have a better suggestion feel free to add it

panels: 3X
max watt: 255
max Vmp: 30.4
open circuit Voc: 37.5
max system V: 600
max power current: 6.36A

so basically right now i just need a CC recommendation from someone and im sure ill have more questions as we get alittle farther into our project

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: newbie with some questions

It would be helpful to know what the loads are going to be, that's the first step in a project. You don't want a Honda CRZ if you have to haul 3 kids and 2 bags of soccer balls daily.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

Welcome to the forum.

Well I guess Batteries Plus is staffed by idiots because those are automotive AGM batteries, not deep cycles. So right away it's all gone wahoonie-shaped.

Now let's get back to what Mike said: how much power are you trying to supply? Without knowing that requirement you are in the 'wild guess school of design' with very little chance of success.
  • gizzy2014