Help with existing Solar setup on a boat.

Hi, I am new to solar and this forum. I have purchased a boat with solar already installed and I have some questions. After reading through many posts and reviewing my installation, I don’t believe it is setup optimally. I will list my configuration below, and hopefully I can receive some help.

5 group 27 Lifeline AGM batteries (GPL-27T) in 2 house banks (2 batteries each) and 1 starting battery.

Blue Sky 2000e controller

2 Siemens SR100 panels
Max Power - 100W
Rated Current - 5.6A
Rated Voltage - 17.7V
Short Circuit Current - 6.3A
Short Circuit Voltage - 22V

2 Kyocera LA361G51S panels
Max Power - 51W
Rated Current – 3.02A
Rated Voltage – 16.9V
Short Circuit Current – 3.25A
Short Circuit Voltage – 21.2V

The panels appear to be connected in parallel. All panels are mounted on an arch davit on the stern of the boat. There is 14 gauge wires between the panels and 10 gauge wire running to the controller. The distance to the controller from the panels is 20ft - 25ft. With the batteries at 50% discharge I have never seen more than 3 – 4 amps charging.

Bsed on other forum posts I need a different controller, a 3 stage, maybe an Outback MX-60, Blue Sky 6024H, or similar. To eliminate the need to run new wire I would connect the panels in series. Please post your thoughts and advice.

Thanks, Barry

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: Help with existing Solar setup on a boat.

You can place identical panels in series. The lowest rated panel will limit the series string to it's own amp limit. So a 3 amp panel would limit a 10 amp panel to only 3 amps. The voltage would still add.