Please help design this system

samitrix
samitrix Registered Users Posts: 20
Hi all,

Been away from this forum for sometime but it's good to be back and see how much progress has been made through this forum!

Anyway, I'm just a beginner on solar and in dire need of your expert opinion on the solar power system I'm hoping to purchase. I'm thinking to buy all my components from the online store here. OK attached is my AC and DC loads with details Attachment not found.. Could you please help me design everything for this system?

Well I'm actually hoping that 1kW will be sufficient for my purposes but once I see the full design then I might make few adjustments here and there to keep the system at 1kW.

Thank you so much in advance and looking forward to your views. Oh by the way, I'm currently based in Solomon Islands (Honiara city) where Peak Sun Hour is 5.5 hours.

Sam

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Please help design this system

Hi Sam!

Boy I hope you have a lot of money. Did you measure any of these loads with a Kill-A-Watt or are they just calculated? That freezer, whereas not unrealistic, is a killer at nearly 3kW hours per day. I'd investigate that one very carefully if I were you, and even consider replacing it with a more efficient unit.

Otherwise you're looking at about 3.2 kW hours AC per day which is around 3.5 to 3.6 DC (depending on inverter efficiency) plus 198 Watt hours DC for lights plus whatever the inverter will need (let's say 480). Grand total: 4216 Watt hours DC. No small amount.

I have to ask: why are the lights DC? Keep in mind that makes them Voltage specific to the system. If they are 12 Volt lights you've chosen you'll need something to power them because the other needs are definitely in "48 Volt territory". There usually is no point at all in having DC equipment when you've got to run an inverter anyway.