batteries discharging overnight, won't reach bulk voltage? help!?

Hi, we have new install of approx 2000w solar, put in 300ah lithium batts with manufacturer settings for bulk, absorb, float etc. 58.4, 1\2 hr, 54.8, Outback pre-wired 48v pack. First charge went to 55v ish & stayed there,it started at 1500w then dropped to 50w for hours, prob at least 3. Soc says 100% though it is not. As soon as the charger snoozed the voltage began dropping. It got to 53.4 & I turned the whole lot off. This took maybe two hours?, We have a BMS. There was no load at all, although mate showing -10 - 30 w. I was trying to do the first full charge, discharge cycle thing 5 times like the manufacturer advised for new lithiums. It would seem we have multiple issues. Please help?! Thought I will test the v in the morning to check its a true reading. Surely we should not be losing so much v when the inverter is not even on! I am lost. Please tell me if you need more info, I'm a definate beginner who needs to learn.

Comments

• Blackcherry04
    Blackcherry04 Solar Expert Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭
    Re: batteries discharging overnight, won't reach bulk voltage? help!?

A big guess not knowing you system or batteries is that you didn't have the voltage low enough (48-50 V ?? ) to trigger a full charge cycle. All it did was to bring them up to your Float Voltage. I would draw them down some and on your mate push the ACin key 4 times and choose " Bulk " that will start a full charge cycle. If you only have Solar input, I don't know how to do that other than to discharge then low enough to start a full charge cycle.
  • karrak
    karrak Solar Expert Posts: 326 ✭✭✭✭

Doesn't sound like you have much of a problem to me unless your batteries are not balanced.

Are the batteries LiFePO4 (Lithium Iron Phosphate) and who is the manufacturer?