Bridging a 50ms tranfer switch gap. AC capacitor

Hi,

Was pointed to this forum by the friendly people at the Small Cabin forum. Recently finished the installation of my cabin power system. It consists off:
- Honda EU 2000 generator with extended run time setup (works awesome!)
- Cotek CX1225 battery charger
- Cotek ST1000 inverter
- Cotek CR6 remote
- A temporary 100AH battery (soon to be replaced with 2x Trojan 6V)

The Cotek inverter was chosen because of it's built-in 30A tranfer switch and low RF noise signature (I'm a HAM radio operator, the ARRL reviewed this inverter and it scored well).

The transfer switch needs 6-10ms going from battery to generator (and that isn't noticeable) but the switch from generator to battery can take up to 50ms. That causes the lights to go off-on and satellite model / wifi / pc to restart. I don't have a scope to check if the Cotek is indeed operating within spec and switching in 50ms. I'm assuming what I see is indeed 50ms

I'm looking for a way to bridge the 50ms gap. I understand the concept of a capacitor in DC, and was looking for something similar in AC. Lot's of hits for Airco start capcitors. If I understand their function correctly, they provide the extra kick the motor needs to start with needed a larger circuit. Also found references to a power factor correction capacitor. What I can't find is if this would help me solve my problem, and example circuit schematics.

Any hints on whether there is reasonable solutions to my problem would be most welcome!

Bas

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: Bridging a 50ms tranfer switch gap. AC capacitor

You may have to put the sensitive components on a UPS to ride through the switching. Since it's AC, a capacitor won't help, it only stores DC and can't invent cycles for you.
    For starting motors, Caps provide a phase shift between I & E and helps spin the motor up. You are a ham, this shouldn't be anything new to you.