Motor, Generator, Alternator For Home Project

xyciana
xyciana Registered Users Posts: 1
Hi,

Firstly I have to apologise because I am a novice when it comes to understanding motors. I just cannot get my head around what I need and unfortunately I am on a very low budget which is less than £50.00 or $70.00. No mater how much reading I do I cannot get my head around Volts, Ohms, HP, etc. The motor is going to charge a 12V leisure battery which in turn will power some outside lights (max 800W).

I am midway through a home wind turbine project and have come stuck with purchase of a motor. I have seen motors on Ebay and I've been told that I need 24V or 12V, low RPM, ideally 150RMP - 300RPM. I obviously cannot afford to buy a new motor and have it shipped to the UK at cost of approx. £150. Can someone advise what other types of motors I can purchase that will work as good generators and what to look out for. Any links would be really appreciated. For example is a geared motor similar to this link http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/271325482092 any good?

For info. My plan is as below

NYP = Not Yet Purchased

Turbine (Built & working well)-> Motor (stuck!) -> 24V DC to 12V DC reducer (Purchased) -> DC Charge Controller (NYP) -> Battery (NYP) -> 1200W Inverter (NYP) -> Lights

Comments

• NorthGuy
    NorthGuy Solar Expert Posts: 1,913 ✭✭
    Re: Motor, Generator, Alternator For Home Project

What you need is not a motor, but alternator.

Motor converts electricity to motion.
    Alternator converts motion to electricity.

Some motors can be used as alternators, but that is generally not a good idea.
  • mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭

What you want is an "axial flux alternator" try Hugh Piggott's blog . Scoraig Wind scoraigwind.co.uk
    plans http://scoraigwind.com/axialplans/index.htm
    http://scoraigwind.com/nirvana/index.htm 4kw alternator !