Reference books and books for beginners.

Shade
Shade Registered Users Posts: 23
Hi all I am Ron aka Shade. Shade is my name I use on internet forums, short
for Shade Tree Welding Services or Shade Tree Welder. Ironic to use on a solar
energy forum, but hey... I am a virgin to Solar Energy, so be gentle. I will be
completely revamping my home over the next few years and I want to include
low voltage power into the rebuild. I live in a very rural setting on a small hobby
farm. I work as a Chemist but was a welder (shipfitter) in the USN and ran a
welding and fab shop for a number of years. I am well versed in standard
residential AC power and what I will call light industrial 3 phase power, I have
several machine tools and welding equipment that run off of 3 phase power. I
have a rotary phase converter installed in my shop as 3 phase power is not
available in my area. So have basic electrical skills and understanding of AC
wiring. I have build both my shop and barn from scratch, only subbing out the
concrete and block work.

I have been looking around the internet, and this forum seems to be one of the
most knowledge and helpful I have read, so I registered this morning.

My main reason for a solar (PV) low voltage system is to be able to have as
normal a life/living conditions as possible if "the grid" etc. is no longer available,
for any reason. We routinely loose power for days being not only rural but at
the end of a long run from the substation. I am happy to discuss politics and
society issues with anyone, but let's do that in another thread, and yes you
could call me a pragmatic prepper.

I only have electrical power and phone lines running to my home, I am well and
septic, heat is wood and electric (no propane, NG or fuel oil), I have 8 acres,
surrounded by a few other homes with similar acreage and open farm fields. I
am in Central Illinois so flat (like a pool table) is the word for our geography. So