NEC question - PV rated wire for underground conduit run??

Hi folks,
A little background, I organized and installed a 12kw system in West Africa. The system works great, we run a school and metal shop from it, but I didn't have to deal with any regulation over there. (There's a little video showing the system on youtube, if anyone is interested: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FgjKH7oFna0. As stated in the video, I know it's not up to code here, but we're still working on closing it all up.)

I live over there but am back home in Michigan for the summer. My parents asked me to put up a system for them while I was here. I did the fab work for the support system, and got it all mounted and hooked up. We just had the inspector out and his list of changes was pretty long! I'm not an electrician, although I did do the system in Africa with no real troubles. Anyway, along with a list of small and fixable complaints from the inspector, we have one big disagreement.

Our system is ground mounted, and the wiring comes together in a junction box on the mounting structure where two strings of ten panels are wire nutted together connected to an underground run that's in conduit to the inverter. All of the wiring from the panels into that box is PV rated cable. Through the conduit, from the junction box to the inverter, we used aluminum 6 gauge service entrance cable, because it's what we could find for a decent price. I know copper is a better conductor and find stranded wire is better, but we ran the system for several days and just like the wire loss calculator predicted, the fact that the cable is so oversized makes up for the aluminum and big strands. I saw a 5040W peak out of our 4600W of panels - so in practice the wiring obviously isn't a limiting factor.