Inherited a mess?

Gino
Gino Registered Users Posts: 11
Hey all, Justed moved into the Off-Grid house, the solar here is a total mess, and it seems like nobody has done any maintenance on it in quite a while.
I could really use a few tips on getting things back in order.. There are some red-flags I see, but I'm a novice so would love some more input.
We are as a house of course on the broke side.. so hopefully I can fix things on the cheap...

Here is the setup

12x 2V - Panasonic 1040Ah Batteries (MSE 1040) in 2 series of 6, for 12V.
Xantrex C35 Charge Controller

All Solar PV is in Parallel right now...
4x 150W Panels with 20Voc = 2x300W at 20V
1x Mystery Panel, giving out 20Voc (different brand)
3x mystery Panels, Also giving out 20Voc slightly larger than my 150W panels... (but no labeling)
1x Wagen 5000W Pure Sine Inverter
No generator :(

If i'm generous and put every panel at 150W thats 9x150W=1350W
so 1350W / 20V = 67.5AMPS!

I have no shunt to measure amps, but I think its safe to assume we are well above 35Amps if all panels are operating correctly..
however the charge controller never shows over-amperage warning light.. or anything... the charging lite just blinks.. thats it..

Do you think I need a larger charge controller??

Things I'm thinking of doing, but really not sure....
*Reconfigure all panels for 40V charging voltage to bring down amps..
*maybe get rid of some of these mystery panels that don't match each other..
*Test batteries for dead cells

The batteries rarely get above 12.0V on a sunny day, usually run in the 11.2-11.9 range.. after a full days charge!
:cry::cry::cry:
Any tips or help.. really want to get this up to the rated 13.5 full charge for that battery bank.

It is possible that since those batteries are used maybe some are bad?? not sure, i'm going to test it soon, just haven't done that yet.

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: Inherited a mess?