Grid interactive 2kW Xantrex XW - with small genset and small battery bank

So here is my system I have been designing for about two years, and I think I have found all the right parts to make it happen. Here is my design basis:

Using Siemens generator-ready load center with MTS to split the buildings into grid and alternate energy systems.
Using the Xantrex XW 6048, with conduit box, and the XW-MPPT60-150 connected to around 2.5kW of PVs.
I don't have a PV panel product locked down yet, but these will be mounted on an out-building (a metal framed structure designed for PV panel roofing) in close proximity to the XW system (around 20' of DC cable). I will buy enough PV to fill my MPPT.
I have a really awesome 4kW air cooled diesel 1800RPM 240V genset electric start, that gets connected to AC2.
Use a small battery bank that has a primary function of peak load-shaving and short-term UPS hold-up for the XW inverter. 5kWh of SLA to start with.

Conditions in my area:
Frequent loss of power for several minutes during peak load periods.
Frequent brown-outs during peak load periods.
Once or twice a month several hour power outage from severe thunderstorms.
Infrequent one to two week outage from hurricane damage to distribution grid.

When the power is out:
Run on PV during sunlight, try to minimize consumption and maximize charging.
Run on generator at night, XW load-shaving to make a 4kW genset more useful.
Run generator on demand. 2-2.5 gallons for an overnight 10hr run. Can become automatic start.

When the power is on:
PV offsets consumption and will sell during the day, but not enough PV be a net exporter.

When the Alt-E system is down for service:
Throw the MTS on the Siemens load center and become a normal grid house again.

Thanks for your input!

Comments

• westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Grid interactive 2kW Xantrex XW - with small genset and small battery bank