New Setup

schwy
schwy Registered Users Posts: 9 ✭✭
Hi. I am very new to solar and this board. Just wanted to have you guys check out the setup I have and see if it is setup correctly. My location is in northern Wisconsin. It is an off grid hunting/vaction cabin. I have two 315watt Kyocera panels wired in parrallel to an Outback FM60. The distance is 35feet. It charges a battery bank consisting of 4 6volt golf cart batteries (232aH). Batt 1 and batt 2 are in series and batt 3 and batt 4 are in series. All 4 wires (2neg 2 pos) run to a 12volt 1000watt sine wave inverter which is then tied into the cabins circut panel. The PV power and battery power are protected by DC breakers. My main question is should I be running my panels in a series or as they are? Thanks for taking a look.

Comments

• Desert Rat
    Desert Rat Solar Expert Posts: 138 ✭✭✭
    Re: New Setup

What gauge wire are you running from the array to the FM60?
  • schwy

It is the same as what the panels had wired from the factory which I believe is 10 gauge (4 wires 2 pos 2 neg). There is 8 gauge running to the batteries from the charge controller ( 2 pos 2 neg).
  • Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭

Sounds like you have 2 strings of batteries in a 12 volt configuration? 35 feet is a ways, the panels are 12 gauge leads, I'd much rather you have a combiner box near the panels or even just MC4 'Y's or Branch connectors and then a water proof box to switch to 10 or 8 gauge wire to bring a single pair to the charge controller. I'm too tired and lazy to see what the voltage drop is over 35 feet. The 39 volt VMP of the panels should be a good voltage for maximum efficiency through the charge controller.

I'd also rather see a single pair of wires from the charge controller to the batteries. Pairs of wires going the same place can invite problems.