Hello, Newbie here with a question.

Options
kc6cnn
kc6cnn Registered Users Posts: 22
Hello
My name is Gerald. I am living off grid in a RV on a 300 acre ranch.
I have 4 trojan 150 ah batteries for a total of 600 ah, If I am right then I can safely use 300 ah without hurting the batteries.
I also have a trojan 225 ah battery that runs just the led lights in the rv.
I have a sunforce wind turbine right now that is 600 watts. The turbine has a charge controller and when the wind is high it charges good. but the wind down here does take a day off every once in a while. So I am looking at getting some solar panels to mount on the roof of the rv and charge the batteries.
My Question is can I use two forms of charging from separate charge controllers? or do I need to get one that the solar and turbine connect to?
I have a 5000 watt converter and it will peak to 10,000 for a second or two, and have plugged the rv into the converter and ran everything, but ac kills the batteries. Microwave also kills them.
I do not use the microwave or ac anymore. I am looking for any suggestions and help with getting my rv set up to run and stay charged up. I have used my Honda EU3000IS to run the trailer and AC, and to charge the batteries during the hot summer night.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Gerald.

Comments

• inetdog
    inetdog Solar Expert Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Hello, Newbie here with a question.
    kc6cnn wrote: »
    Hello
    My name is Gerald. I am living off grid in a RV on a 300 acre ranch.
    I have 4 trojan 150 ah batteries for a total of 600 ah, If I am right then I can safely use 300 ah without hurting the batteries.
    I also have a trojan 225 ah battery that runs just the led lights in the rv.