New guy needing assistance with RV solar system

Options
340driver
340driver Registered Users Posts: 11
Hey guys. I should start off by saying that I have no previous experience with solar, but I am excited about my project. I do have a fairly strong mechanical aptitude and will be installing the system myself. However, having read A LOT of information about solar, I feel that without proper guidance, I would make unnecessary mistakes in selecting the components and the overall design of the system. So, thank you in advance for those who take the time to share your experience with me.

I will start by telling you what I have and how I want to use it. My vehicle is a Ford diesel E350 cutaway box truck that has been converted into an RV. It has all of the components, to include: heater, fridge, vent fan, water heater, sit down shower, microwave, etc. I may be forced out of my current occupation (medical issue) and a divorce (2 kids) is on the horizon. I am being proactive in setting this vehicle up "just in case" things don't go well and I have to live in it for some period of time. My ultimate goal is to make it as "self sufficiant" as possible. What I mean is, I would like to design it so that I have as little need for shore power or a portable generator as possible. I would like to get the absolute most power from the system and plan to adjust my lifestyle (by modifying my need for electrical convieniences) to fit within the limitations of the system.

So, if any of that made any sense, the space I have available to me would allow for: (2) 140-150 watt panels and (4) 6 volt golf cart batteries. I also know that I can also utilize the alternator to assist in charging the batteries.