What did I do now?

LastSupper
LastSupper Registered Users Posts: 3
Hi Ya'll!
I am new to solar and I'm am looking for someone to shed some light on my situation. Please don't scold me too harshly, but I bought two of the Harbor Frieght 45 watt kits just to get my feet wet. I recently hooked up all six panels to a hub with one output to my solar charger, and I have two batteries hooked up parallel. Now they way it usually works is during daylight hours I see fluctuating numbers on my solar charger readout depending on time of day, clouds going by and so fourth. At night I have just a steady readout as there is no light. I am assuming it is strictly telling me the battery voltage since there is no sun.

For the last several days, my solar chager is giving me a steady readout of 12.4 during daylight without any fluctuation. I unhooked all my connections and used a voltage meter and I am getting juice at all my connections. When I unhooked my battery, the readout on the solar charger jumped up to 13.5 and began fluctuating with the sunlight as I have been used to seeing. When I hooked the battery back up the readout went back to a steady 12.4.

I tested my battery with my voltage meter and it showed 10 volts, not 12.4. So have I fried my batteries???

Thanks for any insight.

Comments

• westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: What did I do now?

Welcome. Are you powering any lights or ??

KID #51B  4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM
    CL#29032 FW 2126/ 2073/ 2133 175A E-Panel WBjr, 3 x 4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM 
    Cotek ST1500W 24V Inverter,OmniCharge 3024,
    2 x Cisco WRT54GL i/c DD-WRT Rtr & Bridge,
    Eu3/2/1000i Gens, 1680W & E-Panel/WBjr to come, CL #647 asleep
    West Chilcotin, BC, Canada
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin