Just getting started...

Vikelf
Vikelf Registered Users Posts: 21
Greetings,
I'm brand new to solar tech and this forum, and I recently purchased the "infamous" HF 45watt Solar Panel Kit. How many more kits do I need to power a 2700sqft house with a 5ton AC, PCs, TVs, appliances, and 120 Saltwater Reef? 3 or 4?

Just kidding...well, I did buy the HF kit for a sample to learn hands on. I have been reading the forum for a few days now, and I have discovered that I am more ignorant about this technology than I thought I was. Shading affecting whole string output? Huh? Full rated output for only a few hours in a day? What! Multiple angles in strings on one inverter can cause issues? How!
The more I read the more ignorant I feel, here the whole time I was thinking I would just spend $1-2K, set up a simple solar array over a weekend, and have it power all my external lights...I was very misguided by the advertising! I now realize that there is a lot more to this than I initially expected.

So now I have to really plan it, I enjoy DIY so I will give it a try. I feel the cost is part of the learning and I don't mind spending a little extra to learn a valuable lesson.

My initial goal is to have about 3-5kw rated system with micro inverters on the ground for backup/supplemental power. I have a much bigger goal of off-grid with wind/solar/hydrogen but that's years and years away.

I guess that completes my introduction.

I really enjoy the wealth of information on this forum and I am trying to sift through it.
That being said, any suggestions on following:

Solar Panels
Micro Inverters
Charge Controllers
Misc items to deal with A/C from Micro Inverter to house and chargers
Batteries

Comments

• NorthGuy
    NorthGuy Solar Expert Posts: 1,913 ✭✭
    Re: Just getting started...
    Vikelf wrote: »