thoughts on Blue planets 600watt turbine?

SYKEKO
SYKEKO Registered Users Posts: 10
Hi im new to this whole wind/solar power stuff, I've seen that canadian Tire was selling the Blue planet wind turbines. Now whats everyones thoughts on these? their priced at 240 bucks (reg 799). Im mostly interested in lowing my power bill, cause the numbers keep rising lol. Anyways would this be a good starter that could pay for itself and then some? or is this a complete waste of time, Thanks

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: thoughts on Blue planets 600watt turbine?

No $300 wind turbine is going to do anything but lighten your wallet. Most small scale wind is really not very successful. Do a search here in this site for some more info.

If you really wish to older your bill, do al path conservation you can, CFL, LED bulbs, energy star appliances etc will pay off way better than some small scale wind.

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

Welcome tot he forum, and good luck,

Tony
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

Here is my "standard" wind turbine post:
    BB. wrote: »
    Add links about wind power:

Wind Power Links
    www.otherpower.com (good forum for DIY Wind Power)
    Hugh Piggott - Scoraig Wind Electric site for tons of info (from mike90045)
    www.greenpowertalk.org (added from "russ"--Like here but more wind/less solar)
    Small windpower a scam ? Survey says SO
    Truth About Skystream & SWWP
    Windmax HY-2000 2kW Wind Turbine (apparently, some vendors don't sell spare parts--just new turbines. However, the owner, Edward has been very happy with its performance from 2010-2012--BB. 5/31/2012)

And a general DIY Solar Builder site:

www.builditsolar.com