Help needed to build a Hybrid System

Nawam
Nawam Registered Users Posts: 5
Hello,
I am a newbie to solar and was just wondering if someone could help me with my project.
I am planing for a hybrid system which includes solar panels as well as the NEA one.
The NEA specifications, as far as I know are given below:
Volate- 220V
Current- 6 Amps
Now I am planning for a system of about 1kWh per day, say i have about 4 hours of electricity from the NEA. :p
Now what would be my ideal battery configuration for this system?? Would 24V setup be better than 12V one?
Also since the NEA voltage is huge compared to the solar, do i need to use a high voltage inverter or what ?
And what about the charge controller ??
Right now I only have these questions. I am sure if someone answers them I'll ask more. :p
Thanks in advance ..

Comments

• kellylipp
    kellylipp Registered Users Posts: 21 ✭✭
    Re: Help needed to build a Hybrid System

OK, I'll bite: what an NEA? Googled and came up with Near Earth Asteroid. I'm thinking that's probably not right: lots of energy but hard to harvest efficiently or safely...

Lots of the bigger dogs will jump in and ask about what you are trying to accomplish with this system paying particular interest to the loads you will experience. Also where on the planet are you so one can tell about how much sun you might get.

Kelly
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

Welcome to the forum.

I think you may have the specs wrong on that panel. 220 Volts? :confused: Are you sure that's not 220 Watts? At 6 Amps that would be 36.6 Vmp which is much more like what we'd expect. If that really is the Voltage it isn't going to work with any charge controller except one: the $1,200 Xantrex XW 600 MPPT 80. Frankly I'd avoid that panel in such a case because you can buy quite a few "conventional Watts of panel" for the money difference in controllers.