Float mode confusion...

Options
Hello all, and if is not the correct forum I'm sorry...

To start off with I am an electrician, plumber and HVAC guy from KY with three trade degrees. My wife and I, over the last year, have built a 1300 sf house. I wired it and my brother was the lead carpenter. We've four 150-watt Kyocera panels, a Xantex 60 amp charge controller and a 1500 watt inverter powering the house, which is otherwise conventionally wired by 2008 NEC. The 12-volt battery bank is seven 120 amp-hour batteries. All battery cables are 2 awg copper welding cable, good for 100 amps, with very short runs. All the equipment is in the same room which helps keep cables short. All the dc and ac connections are TIGHT.

The house will typically go on float mode any day that there's sunlight and that's all well and good. However, I am experiencing what I consider to be serious voltage drop. As soon as the system goes off float mode it will begin to loose dc voltage. The only ac loads are generally phone chargers and CFLs. There is a laptop which is plugged in when in use and a Mac mini occasionally, which is otherwise unplugged. I thought it was a dc issue, so took five batteries offline- lo and behold, one was one volt lower than the others after several hours disconnected. Putting the system back together has not, after two float mode days, stopped the voltage drop issue.