Solar setup for camping in a few weeks

Options
radraymond01
radraymond01 Registered Users Posts: 1
Hello guys,

I am planning to go camping in 3 weeks and found out that the campgrounds does not allow gas generators so I decided to look at some alternatives when I stumbled into solar.

I am at the process of gathering the materials for the three days worth but I am a complete newbie when it comes to building things. Point is, I am looking for a beginner setup that can run a laptop for 3 hours (about 90 watts an hour) and maybe some dvd player (30 watts) for the kids at night. I have began to email people/businesses for the materials but I am also on a limited budget.

So far this is what I am about to get:

1 100 watt solar panel that is 24volts
1 EverStart Group Size 24DC Marine Battery from Walmart, which I assume is 12 volts
Cobra 400 power inverter
A 10A PWM charge controller from Ebay

Now my questions are:

I understand that the 24v panel is different from the 12v battery but I can only afford a PWM controller as a MPPT is just way beyond my budget range. Would it be safe to operate and not explode from the different charges? If I stick with a PWM, how much of a watt loss should I expect?

Are you able to run things that uses less wattage while the solar setup is running, for example if you can run a 20 watt item while the system is charging?

How much of a stored power can I expect from a battery mentioned above if it's charged for 6 hours?

Again, I am only going to use this for 3 days while camping. Please let me know what I need to do, thanks so much!

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Solar setup for camping in a few weeks

Welcome to the forum.