Off grid system for remote cabin

Caveman
Caveman Solar Expert Posts: 83 ✭✭✭✭
Hey all I'm a newbie here, my searching hasn't delivered the greatest results, so I'll start a new thread.

I am building a hunting cabin, my plan is to wire it with lights and plugs for AC, and also have some 12v lights. I would like to be able to use the system completely off solar panels, but have the ability to connect a generator to the system for poor weather or extended use. Right now the plan is that the cabin will only be used for a few days at a time, possibly a week, and mostly in the fall/winter. I would like to be able to use a microwave and a laptop if possible, among other things as well.
The more I learn, the more overwhelmed I feel. I don't know the first thing about solar. I need to know what brands to look out for, what size wiring for the 12v, how many watts of panels I'll need, etc. The cabin is 18 X 28. Are there any companies that I can talk to who can sell me a "tailor make" kit, so to speak? Should I buy it all separately? Like I said I don't know solar, but I'm pretty handy and want to learn.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Off grid system for remote cabin

Actually what you need first is some power usage numbers. The best way to get these is to collect what you want to run at the cabin and run them at the house through a Kill-A-Watt meter. That way you'll know two vital things: the total Watts you'll use at any one time and the total Watt hours you'll use during a day. Without those numbers you are wandering aimless through a dark forest at night, and there are angry grizzly bears behind every tree. :D

If you have to, put the cabin wiring together first and run it off the generator to make your measurements. BTW, those little inverter-generators are your best bet. Especially as you can bring them back home with you when you're finished your expedition so they don't get stolen.