Another Newbie

paulskirocks
paulskirocks Solar Expert Posts: 84 ✭✭✭✭
OK, first post in the forum... We have an off grid cabin in sunny southern California that I stay in 4 or 5 nights a week... It's been in the family for 47 years, since I was 7 months old, and over the years we thought about getting Socal Edison to bring power, but it was too expensive... About 5 years ago, I went to a week long grid tied solar class, since I am an electrician, although I have yet to do any solar projects...

Well, now I have my first off grid project... I ordered the Morningstar Tristar 45 (not MPPT), A Trimetric 2025 battery monitor meter, and four 12 volt, 100 watt panels... I plan on using two Trojan T-105 batteries in series... Eventually, I'll pick up a decent inverter for certain periodic AC use, and the rest will all be 12 volts, including lighting, fridge, ham radio transceivers, stereo, etc...

I've been scouring the internet, weeding through all the BS, and NAWS came recommended, so here I am, exploding my brain... Fortunately, I have a good understanding of electricity from being a ham for 32 years, and electrician for 25 years, so solar stuff is really intriguing me since I started staying at our cabin on a weekly basis...

Anyways, once I have all my stuff, I'll take some pictures and post my progress...

Comments

• unicornio
    unicornio Solar Expert Posts: 217 ✭✭
    Re: Another Newbie
    OK, first post in the forum... We have an off grid cabin in sunny southern California that I stay in 4 or 5 nights a week... It's been in the family for 47 years, since I was 7 months old, and over the years we thought about getting Socal Edison to bring power, but it was too expensive... About 5 years ago, I went to a week long grid tied solar class, since I am an electrician, although I have yet to do any solar projects...