First build - input appreciated!

Options
photon_trap
photon_trap Registered Users Posts: 23 ✭✭
Hi, After what seems like a zillion hours of research in a topic I was previously unfamiliar with (I'm a mechanic by trade) I have what I think I need on paper.
My plan is to operate the 110v side of my two car garage essentially off grid (although I do have 110/240v service) reducing my electric bill (hopefully enough to get my bill into a lower tier) and, most importantly have backup power source for emergency use.

The system is based on 1.5Kwh per day energy usage (in reality this a considerable over-estimate) so, for my areas worst case insolation of 2.72, I should require 551 watts of panel.
I plan on two 315w Kyocera totaling 630w and Morningstar Tri-Star 45 mppt charge controller (24v system)

I have purchased four Crown 6V 395ah batteries to be wired in series for 24v (9480wh) After 80% efficiency loss and assuming 50% DOD this should yield 3792wh if my calculations are correct.

I also have planned on a Exeltech XP-1100 24v inverter

I have a like new Honda eu200i generator that can be used to augment my solar input as needed -
I have not concluded the best way to equalize my batteries however. Will the panels be of sufficient output or will a 110 charger be needed?

Any educated comments and/or suggestions are very much appreciated as I sure don't want to have any do-overs ($$)

Thanks
Jeff A

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: First build - input appreciated!

Methinks you made a small calculation error on sizing the array. To get 1500 Watt hours AC per day from a battery-based system you have to put up with the inefficiency of going from array * time to AC out * time. It's a horrible little number around 0.52 and it works like this: