Well & Pump in Michigan

mattbro23
mattbro23 Registered Users Posts: 9
Hi I am a newbie. Great to hear all these great stories. I am not sure if this is a good place to as this question but it seems that there are several experienced or at least very resourceful members here. I am looking to install a well in northern MI off grid using solar power and have never had a well and especially have not drilled or had one drilled or powered the pump. I have many general basic questions and was hoping to get some good advice. :)

First of all I want to get the well "approved" Even though its out in the country there are building codes and am told I should get a "permit" What does anyone know about this?
Second I met a "well driller" who has done several in the area and he told me things like "it HAS to be 4 inch", "the pump HAS to be a 220", "you CAN NOT have a manual pump"
Thirdly his quote was several thousand dollars and most all of MI has no rocks and is sand and other wells in the area range between 40-75 feet. This seems ridiculously expensive

Any advice to these three "Starter questions" would be greatly appreciated. I realize It should be a new post but havent figured out where to do this yet--looking now. The reason I posted here was the fact that someone drilled a 250 foot well by HAND so why cant I do something similar to get down 75 in sand :)?

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Well & Pump in Michigan

I have moved your post to its own thread.

I would like to read the responses to drilling your own well... Going down 200+ feet with hand drilling sounds like a lot of work.

Yes, you can get manual pumps, and a few people share the same well with both a manual and submerged pump.

There are also several different ways of addressing the pump in well question.