Bimodal system to run Deep well

I'm sure this has come up many times but i have yet to get a good answer. I am new to off grid systems and i have a client who wants a bimodal syste or complete off grid system to power his 1Hp 240v Single phase deep well and freezer in case of grid outage. I have come up with him needing about a 2.2kw system but taking the LRA into consideration it may end up being like a 6kw system. The pump is already been set and i dont know the exact LRA for that particular pump but the "ugly book" syas for a 1HP 230v pump the LRA is 48A. We have toyed with the idea of installing a start compacitor bank to negate the LRA so we can keep the Solar system down to a small size. Does anyone have any experience with this or have any ideas?

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Bimodal system to run Deep well

Does this well pump have the start capacitor at the top of the well (vs inside the motor down the well)?

If so, you may want to research using a VFD (Variable Frequency Drive) for the well pump. Basically, these are poly phase AC inverters that start with a low frequency to get the well motor up to speed--i.e., soft start. (typically used with 3 phase pumps, but also pumps with an external capacitor start lead).

You can also use a VFD to run the motor at less than full RPM--to better match pumping capacity to well/piping/GPM requirements.

I think I have read here of people using a 4kW inverter for 1 hp pumps.

Magnum makes a nice ~4kW inverter/charger true sine wave with native 120/240 VAC split phase output.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    JOSI wrote: »