Opinions For A Newbie On An Orrder

King
King Registered Users Posts: 15
I apologize in advance if I am posting this in the wrong section. Learning a new forum and site navigation is difficult for a newbie. Here is my question for opinions of any kind. I am new to all this; What is right or wrong with this potential order:

Blue Sky SB2000E MPPT charge controller quantity 1 @ 263. 65

Multibranch MC4 Connectors, Latching quantity 3 @ 26.00 each

Kyocera KD140GX-LPU 140 Watt 12 Volt Solar Module quantity 6 up to 8 panels $309.40 each

Exeltech XP1100 12-volt 1100 watt sine wave inverter 1 @ $561.35

approx Subtotal: $2,700

I am interested in the set up itself, specifically- the inverter, MPPT controller- the amount of panels and suggestions of batteries. Any of it right or all wrong? Suggestions? Thank you so much in advance.

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Opinions For A Newbie On An Orrder

What is wrong with this order is,,, the potential for "ready, fire, aim"!

Define your loads (to us) and your expectations for this system. All hardware choices should stem from the loads, any other way of doing so runs the risk of square pegging. If you know your loads, both peak and WH per day, then you can design a battery bank to carry these loads (figuring how much autonomy you need or want) then find a charge regimen that fits those batteries, and an inverter to power them.

On a different note, I would look into other MPPT options. While Bs makes good stuff, for wht I have heard, there are better MPPT controllers out there. Rogue, Midnight, Morningstar and Outback come to mind. My memory, feeble as it is, remembers that the Bs controller is too small for the array that you are proposing, AND, (this is a big AND) it won't take high input voltages. My BS controller will only take 12 volt input. The better controllers will allow series wiring of the PV to allow input voltages up to and above 48 volts.