Need guidance

Hi, total newbie here. I am looking for an emergency back-up power source that is quiet and doesn't rely on purchased fuel, so no generators. I live in Western NC and am seriously considering purchasing a SolarPod Standalone, which consists of 4-230W panels, an off-grid 1800W modified sine wave inverter with mounted charge controllers, racking w tilt adjust, cable and 230V/20A male rec w weather proof boot (connected to panel string), female receptacle w weather proof boot, and up to 100 ft cable. Kit originally comes w 2 batteries (expandable to 4) but opted to source locally to save on shipping. I want to be able to power at least my fridge and deep freeze enough to keep them cold enough, as well as a couple of lights and fans. We can heat water and cook either on wood stove in winter or outdoors in summer so no need for water heater or oven or stove, we will rely on wood stove for heat in winter and fans and windows for cooling in summer, we are purchasing a hand pump for our well so don't need to power well pump, only other possibilities I can think of is recharging small batteries for use in flashlights, radios, etc. Assuming that we would unplug deep freeze and fridge most of the time, plugging in about every 4 hours to keep cool enough to keep food. I am trying to research other kits or something I could put together myself that would either be equivalent to this kit or better suited for what we need, but would need a very detailed list of exactly everything i would need and very detailed instructions on how to hook it all up. Budget not to exceed 7K. Not at all interested in grid tied system that won't work if the grid goes down.
Any and all help and advice is greatly appreciated.
Aaron

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Need guidance

Welcome to the forum, Aaron.

Okay before you spend any money figure out how much power you need to supply.