solar powered toys

Options
jeremy m
jeremy m Registered Users Posts: 2
hey gang,newbie here from texas/usa,i like to share the info about the solar powered toys i had...

knex with solar motor
the glass light bulb thing that has a solor spinning thing inside

Comments

• Windsun
    Windsun Solar Expert Posts: 1,164 ✭✭
    Options
    Re: solar powered toys

Those have actually been around for at least 100 years, but not sure how they are relevant to solar electric.
  • jeremy m
    jeremy m Registered Users Posts: 2
    Options

100 years? wow i didn't know they been around that long,sweeeet!
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,443 admin
    Options

Also known as a Crookes radiometer.
    The Crookes radiometer, also known as the light mill, consists of an airtight glass bulb, containing a partial vacuum. Inside are a set of vanes which are mounted on a spindle. The vanes rotate when exposed to light, with faster rotation for more intense light, providing a quantitative measurement of electromagnetic radiation intensity. The reason for the rotation has historically been a cause of much scientific debate.[1][2]
    It was invented in 1873 by the chemist Sir William Crookes as the by-product of some chemical research. In the course of very accurate quantitative chemical work, he was weighing samples in a partially evacuated chamber to reduce the effect of air currents, and noticed the weighings were disturbed when sunlight shone on the balance. Investigating this effect, he created the device named after him. It is still manufactured and sold as a novelty item.

Read the link and see how it works... There was a lot of argument/misunderstanding on how/why it does what it does.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • Thomas
    Thomas Solar Expert Posts: 291
    Options

These are 10$ at Edmonds Scientific, I use to have one....