Xantrex DR 3624 voltage output

Options
davecharles
davecharles Registered Users Posts: 2
I have a self installed and self designed pv system(oh no) on my remote Island cabin in NW Ontario. I've been using it for 6 years with few problems until this year. I have 4 200 watt fixed Sharp PV panels (About 30 volt output). A Xantrex C40 charge controller, A Xantrex DR 3624 inverter, and 12 105ah deep cycle batteries (6 24v pairs). After lurking around this forum for a while I know the system needs to be changed so your suggestions are welcome.
Now for my question, This year I have had 2 different televisions give problems. These are older TVs so the problems may just be that they failed from old age. The first one went within days by heating up when in use then eventually let out all of the smoke that kept it working. The second one, a little newer works for an hour or so then starts turning on and off on its own (ghosts). I suspect the MSW inverter is the cause but how do I check? I have an inexpensive multimeter that shows 98 volts at every receptical in the cabin. Is that about standard for reading MSW on a RMS meter? Are there any other checks I can make on the Inverter. As I make improvements on the system I would like to replace the inverter last (most expensive). I would like to change to a mppt controller first if the inverter is still good. Everything else works well in the cabin and the old TV's arent expensive so no great loss. (I just brought up another one the other day)
Dave

Comments

• SolaRevolution
    SolaRevolution Solar Expert Posts: 410 ✭✭
    Options
    Re: Xantrex DR 3624 voltage output

98 vac is a typical reading for a modified sinewave inverter with a non-true RMS meter. There may be nothing wrong with your DR but some electronics will die from it. I suggest you replace it before your other TV gives up the smoke-ghost or before you get any new appliances.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options