completely new, starting with fan

Options
ukoa
ukoa Registered Users Posts: 4
Hey everyone,
this is my first time here. Looks like an awesome forum!
I'm looking to start going solar but I want to start small.

I want to just run a fan for right now and see how it goes. I would like the system to be upgradable for future addons. (and when I have more money)
Maybe I can also charge a few gadgets for now. Just get a few small things off the grid.

I've tried looking around to see how to get started but it's all a little overwhelming right now.
Any suggestions would be great.
Thanks!

-Scott

Comments

• waynefromnscanada
    waynefromnscanada Solar Expert Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: completely new, starting with fan

Hi Scott! Welcome to the form.
    What you plan on doing is very familiar to me, that is starting out small and expanding. Only difference is my first objective was running a light and radio. Of course I quickly became addicted and my system grew to the point where for all intents and purposes, I'm living off grid. It's an amazing feeling to be producing you're own power.
    Now comes the "however".
    However, had I known in the beginning, the size to which my system would grow, a couple of things would have been done differently!
    1) If I had known the overall cost and had to pay it all up front in one lump sum, it would likely never have happened.
    2) If I had known the final (at least for now) size the system has grown to, I could have saved huge a amount of money by purchasing only what I would need for that final system, rather than buying numerous inverters, controllers etc, etc to match my growing system, over and over again.
    3) Had I known back then what I know now, I would have gone with a 24 volt system instead of financially painting myself into a 12 volt corner.