Can I power a well pump on marine batteries?

bearmtpicnic
bearmtpicnic Registered Users Posts: 3
Hi there,

Total newbie here. I purchased an off-grid property that came with a 1970's fifth wheel RV, two brand new marine batteries, a generator, and a 1/2HP 230V well pump.

So now I'm trying to add a solar panel to the system but still work with the existing puzzle pieces as much as possible, to save costs, for now. My usage needs are small: 2 DC circuits in the trailer; one for lights and one for an outlet (cell phone charger). I don't use any of the appliances in the trailer. For AC, I need to run power tools occasionally and the well pump maybe once a week to fill up the water tank. (The water system is totally external to the trailer and is gravity-fed and solar-heated.)

I am trying to buy things that will work as I upgrade the system, without being too expensive, but still work with each other and with the existing crappy batteries. I want to minimize generator use.

I bought this kit: http://www.solar-electric.com/rvkitwi140wa.html
and installed the 140W panel and controller/charger. I took the batteries out of the trailer and wired directly from the controller to the batteries, connected the batteries in parallel, and from the batteries to the trailer's circuit breaker. (The way they were positioned in the trailer was stupid-- the batteries were in separate compartments on either side of the rig, both underneath the fifth wheel overhang part, so very difficult to access not to mention on the other side of the trailer lengthwise from the circuit breaker.)

So that is working (whew!)-- the trailer DC power works, batteries stay charged, all is well.

Now I want to add an inverter and transformer to power the 110V tools and 230V well pump. Can I do this, say with an 800W inverter and a 1000W transformer? Or will it just trash these poor little batteries? They are rated 80AH each.

If I can do it, then I have several follow up questions. :)

Thanks in advance !