Search ResultsXantrex SW5548 inverter not kicking over to battery quick enough

Options
Taxman
Taxman Registered Users Posts: 3
Hey everybody!

This is my first time posting, long time lurker. I know very little in the field of inverters and have been tasked to find out why this system is not working correctly.

The inverter takes about a second to kick over to the batteries. This delay causes our servers to restart, which causes problems for the websites hosted on them. This system used to work flawlessly and only recently has it started to do this.

I've been told the batteries are getting pretty old but they have been "refilled" in the last few years with fresh battery acid.

We believe it has something to do with us adding more of a load on the sytem. We've added a few more servers since it stopped working. Would this cause a delay?

Any insite would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

-Ted

Comments

• Blackcherry04
    Blackcherry04 Solar Expert Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Search ResultsXantrex SW5548 inverter not kicking over to battery quick enough

Well, it's seems to be a hard one to find. I had one I took to the service center and they changed all 3 boards and it was still doing it. There are a couple transfer Relays that are usually the problem, they can stick or have a insect in them or just be slow. The main control board can also be the issue. In the end my local center sent it into the main Xantrex service center after changing a 3 boards and 4 hrs labor and they sent it back and said it was within the transfer limits. Two things they do is pick it up on the bench 1/2 inch and drop it a few times and cycle it a few times.

Batteries NEVER need to be refilled with Acid, just distilled water. If the voltage is dropping low on transfer it could be a issue, for sure.
  • Taxman
    Options
    Re: Search ResultsXantrex SW5548 inverter not kicking over to battery quick enough

Thanks Blackcherry04 for the reply!