Busbar as Battery Interconnects

Options
Luminast
Luminast Registered Users Posts: 6
I'm assembling my first off-grid solar system for remote cabin power. I'm new to this, but have read a lot, and am assembling the system from quality parts, and incorporating the best possible workmanship.

Can I get the gang here to tell me why copper busbar is almost never mentioned as an alternative for interconnecting batteries? I've done a fair bit of research on copper busbars. I know the cost, and I know where to source the proper copper bar at reasonable cost. After the research, the idea appeals to me as a way to avoid the potential problems that might come along with many crimped cable ends, and result in a neater looking battery bank.

Here is what my research reveals: The current carrying capacity of copper busbar is commonly figured as 1.25 amps per square mm of cross sectional area, which means that a 1/4-inch by 1-inch bar can carry 201 amps. The proper copper bar that size can be purchased for about $10 per foot, which is nearly the same cost as one foot of 2/0 copper wire plus two crimp terminal ends. Being conservative, I would increase the bar size another 50%. The rate of thermal expansion for copper is a little less than .001" per inch of length per 100 degrees (F) delta T, which seems easily acceptable for my sheltered battery location.

I know how to tin copper, and would tin the copper bars to limit oxidation of the copper. Battery interconnects for my batteries would each be about 7-inches long. I have a plan for insulating the bars as well.

Is anyone here using busbar to interconnect batteries? Or can you tell me why I should favor 2/0 copper wire? Or can you suggest any other things that should be considered in evaluating busbar interconnects? My installation is not subject to the satisfaction of an electrical inspector, so nuances of the NEC might not be of concern if they are not legitimate safety issues.