Help with a project

duanehaas
duanehaas Registered Users Posts: 3
I am new to all things solar, and was wanting some experts opinions.

I have a pond in Southern Indiana that I want to aerate. The air pump will run 4-6 hours and is a 280w pump. Would you guys have a recommendation for the type of system I should attempt.

Thanks!

Duane Haas

Comments

• waynefromnscanada
    waynefromnscanada Solar Expert Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Help with a project

Hi Duane, welcome to the form.
    Now some questions about your project.
    Are you looking to only have this pump running on sunny days, during the daytime? Will it only be used during the day, or will it also from time to time be needed at night? Do you need it to operate the pump during several days of cloudy weather? Is this an AC pump? If so, what voltage? Or is it a DC pump? And again, what voltage? So far, not including losses, you need something that will supply 1.7 kwh/day. This is not a small system for off grid, and depending on your needs, the costs could add up to a lot more than you might think.
  • duanehaas
    Hi Duane, welcome to the form.
    Now some questions about your project.
    Are you looking to only have this pump running on sunny days, during the daytime? Will it only be used during the day, or will it also from time to time be needed at night? Do you need it to operate the pump during several days of cloudy weather? Is this an AC pump? If so, what voltage? Or is it a DC pump? And again, what voltage? So far, not including losses, you need something that will supply 1.7 kwh/day. This is not a small system for off grid, and depending on your needs, the costs could add up to a lot more than you might think.

Thanks for the reply, and to answer your questions -

Only during the night time about 6hrs each and every night (including cloudy days). AC pump 110v 280w.
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭