Newbie needs help with designing off-grid system

Ross
Ross Registered Users Posts: 20 ✭✭
Hello: I am new to solar and am trying to figure out an off-grid system for my cabin in the Eastern Sierra mountains of California. There is no grid power available. The cabin is located at 9700 feet. The Latitude: 38.07; Longitude: -119.23 are approximate. The temperatures range from around 5-10 F in the winter to around 75-80F in the summer. Snow levels get to around 5-6 feet on the average. My load is very minimal but I would like to have a fairly decent sized system to run a TV, computer, small microwave, a few lights with potential for more. My main concern is not to over build but still have room for future expansion Currently I use a Honda EU2000 to provide power at night time, turning it off at bedtime.

So far I have 6 – 205w 24 volt Evergreen ES-E 205 panels. The STC ratings are as follows:

Pmp – 205 watts
Pptc2 – 185.3 watts
Vmp – 28.5 volts
Imp – 7.21 amps
Voc – 35.2 volts
Isc – 7.91 amps
Series rate fuse max is 15 amps
Rated system voltage is 600 volts
Panels have MC4 connections

I will have to mount the array on a pole top mount to get above the snow level during winter months.

The run from the array pole combiner to the controller location would be approximately 80 feet.

I can not decide on whether to connect the panels in parallel (6 panels), or 3 in series x 2 or 2 in series x 3 and then connect them in parallel at the combiner.

So depending on which configuration is best, the appropriate wire size would have to be determined.

I have been thinking about a MPPT controller either the Outback FM 60 or FM 80 or possibly the Midnite Classic 150.